Round 1: Fight!

With Campbell and Charleston Southern winning the first two games of the Big South Tournament, the quarterfinals will begin tomorrow in Rock Hill, SC, home of Winthrop University.

UNC-Asheville’s first game will be against a Campbell team that decisively defeated Presbyterian. The regular season games between these two finished Asheville (H) 72, Campbell 56 and Asheville 66, Campbell (H) 53. While the Bulldogs are 6-3 in Big South Tournament games in Rock Hill, my biggest concern will be how UNCA starts play. Campbell was able to get loose last night, which may put Asheville at a disadvantage since they haven’t played since Saturday. I think Asheville will start cold before heating up and picking up the win: UNCA -11.

If the Bulldogs defeat the Camels, Liberty will likely be the next opponent. While the Flames’ victories over Radford were very close games, including an OT win in Radford (something the Bulldogs couldn’t do), Liberty is the favorite. Given how the Bulldogs and Flames matched up this past Saturday, the game will hinge on defense: how will UNCA respond to the post double-teams, and will Liberty, when pushed the three point line, be able to convert? UNCA -10.

If UNC-Asheville pulls both victories off, it’ll likely be the matchup everyone is waiting for: Winthrop-Asheville, Game 3. Winthrop’s road, while at home, won’t be easy. While Winthrop’s almost a certainty against Charleston Southern, both High Point and Gardner-Webb can give them trouble. High Point won the last matchup in Rock Hill, after falling in High Point by 6. Winthrop’s two victories over Gardner-Webb totaled 8 points. However, I think Winthrop’s home court advantage will prove too much and they will make the championship game.

Pending these two teams meet, I have to take UNC-Asheville. I mean, I literally have to take them. For God’s sake, this is a Bulldog fan blog, so what kind of statement would I be making if I didn’t take them. Plus, I love UNCA. Both teams have one victory by 3 points, so my guess: UNCA -3.

Final Thoughts:

  • Props to Asheville for taking Coach of the Year (including Coach McDevitt’s 75th victory), Defensive Player of the Year for Ahmad Thomas, Freshman of the Year for Macio Teague, and Super Scholar-Athlete with an incredibly high GPA (not the official name) for Giacomo Zilli.
  • Should the tournament hosting go the victor? I’ve argued this many times over the years, but I’ll let it be known here: I don’t like this tournament format. The Big South wants money and fans want to attend so I understand their position, but the home winning percentage of the any Big South team generally is high. Is it worth it to get to a more neutral court? Perhaps something like the team who finishes last in the conference hosts the tournament? Regardless, I thought I would let my greivance be known and may return to this idea in the later post.
  • From now on all Big South games can be viewed through WatchESPN and the championship will be broadcast on ESPN on Sunday at 1pm.

GO BULLDOGS!!!

 

 

